IRS Products Assist Small Biz and Self-Employed

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) is marking National Small Business Week, May 1 to 7, by encouraging small-business owners and self-employed individuals to check out several products to help them understand and meet their tax obligations.

The products include a series of educational webinars to help you not only be tax compliant, but also to help your businesses thrive. The webinars start at 2 p.m. Eastern (11 a.m., Pacific; noon, Mountain; 1 p.m., Central). If you missed it, each webinar topic has a tax tip or fact sheet with more information:

Tax Tips for your New Business, May 2
Register at
IRS Tax Tips for Starting a Business

Staying Afloat: Planning for Emergencies Before they Happen, May 3
Register at
Look to the IRS for Tax Help in the Event of a Disaster

Worker Classification: Employee or Independent Contractor? (in Spanish), May 4
Register at
Payments to Independent Contractors

Tip Reporting and Tips vs. Service Charges, May 5
Register at
Tips Versus Services Charges: How to Report

Other Small Business Products
The IRS video portal contains video and audio presentations on a variety of topics of interest to small businesses.

The IRS YouTube video channel also offers videos for small businesses including:
ยท       IRS Tax Calendar
ยท     Audits by Mail โ€“ What to Do?
ยท     Simplified Home Office Deduction

The Small Business and Self-Employed Tax Center  is a complete online resource featuring links to a variety of useful tools, including Small Business Taxes: The Virtual Workshop, a downloadable tax calendar and common forms and their instructions. The Center provides help on everything from how to get an Employer Identification Number online to how to engage with the IRS during an audit.

The Self-Employed Individuals Tax Center is for sole proprietors and others who are in business for themselves. This site has many useful tips and references to the tax rules that a self-employed person may need to know.

The Online Learning and Educational Products page has tools to help taxpayers learn about taxes on their own time, and at their own pace. For example, the IRS Tax Calendar for Businesses and Self-Employed has important tax dates for businesses. Download the Calendar Connector tool to get the dates even when offline.

e-News for Small Businesses is a free electronic mail service providing tax information for small business owners and self-employed individuals. 

SSA/IRS Reporter is a quarterly, online-only publication for businesses, payroll professionals and others who deal with payroll taxes and employee issues.

Do some or all of your employees lack access to a retirement savings plan? You can help them get started saving for retirement with myRA, a simple, safe and affordable retirement savings option from the U.S. Treasury. Learn more here.